Happy Groundhog Day!


On this wonderful (and freezingly cold) Groundhog Day, I would like to wish everyone a Happy one! And, I would like to add that I hope the groundhog in your location does NOT see his shadow; thus allowing for an Early Spring (yes, Upper Midwesterners – now would be the appropriate time to snicker).

However, unlikely a groundhog’s prognostications might be… this holiday is a fun one with a surprisingly long and illustrious history. I have included the Wikipedia explanation of this holiday here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Groundhog_day

Also, Bill Murray and Andie MacDowell starred in a rather famous movie that takes place on this special day. Check it out – it is a very unusual and funny movie: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0107048/?ref_=sr_1

My respect and love for Groundhog Day grew when I had to write an article for Groundhog Day for my university newspaper, The Marquette Tribune. Back in 1990, I interviewed a really sweet man named Toy Sivola, and his enthusiasm over the day and the groundhog swept me up and I do enjoy this holiday.

So, I hope you have a blessed and wonderful Groundhog Day! Stay warm!

2 thoughts on “Happy Groundhog Day!

  1. Sara says:

    I never remember Groundhog Day, but Husby always surprises me with a homemade card celebrating the day. What fun! Thing is, I think the groundhog will see his shadow today. It’s so bright and sunny, but the temperature is around zero Brr! Hope you’re enjoying a “real” midwest winter!

    • How sweet! Homemade cards are the best! I think he did see his shadow in the frozen midwest! 🙂 Oh well, it was a good day to do inside stuff, I guess (I went to a baby shower). Hope you are staying warm!

Leave a Reply

