Mystery Novel FREE ALL DAY 4/25 & A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Door County


Wisconsin is an unusually friendly state. I don’t know why, but I know that it is pretty universal in this state. Personally, I think the whole Midwest is pretty special and I think what happened this week is pretty rare. As you may know, this whole blog started because of my little mystery novel, MURDER IN DEATH’S DOOR COUNTY… well, this past weekend, a similarly titled book in the same genre was released. A pair of authors, Rosalind Burgess and Patricia Obermeier, have written DEATH IN DOOR COUNTY! Similar titles, no? Yes, similar titles very much so. A little chill went through me when I first saw it. I think a little chill went through one of the two women who wrote DEATH IN DOOR COUNTY, too.

But she, Patty, kindly reached out to me in friendship. I responded in kind. We’ve exchanged some lovely emails and hopefully will meet face-to-face soon. I’m not competitive at all and I think that a couple of good mystery novels that showcase beautiful Door County are a very good thing!

So, if you feel moved to grab my book, MURDER IN DEATH’S DOOR COUNTY, please check out Roz and Patty’s book, too. 🙂 I love that I’ve made new friends through this whole thing.

IMG_1466
The Bed and Breakfast that my fictional one (The Lighthouse Inn) is modeled after. The building, not the characters. 🙂

IMG_1492
Famous Door County sunset in Ephraim.

11052011 064
Ferry that takes people from Gills Rock to Washington Island.

Blessings!

15 thoughts on “Mystery Novel FREE ALL DAY 4/25 & A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Door County

  1. Elizabeth, wow I would have thought that would be your title if you have already published your book first? Interesting how things go, I just googled a title for a novel I am writing and found two very similar. Its back to the drawing board for me.

    • Well, Patty and Roz did their due diligence and checked the title name last fall, while they were writing… unbeknownst to them, I uploaded my book and titled it in December… I had no idea of their planned title and they were so busy prepping their book, they didn’t realize until this past weekend. It’s ok, though. 🙂 I mean, people seem to like reading about Door County… it is a really beautiful area up here. How close are you to being finished?

      • Almost finished first draft of tween novel, long way to go yet I watch and learn from people like you. My dream was to finish by the end of this year.

      • That’s fantastic! 🙂 You can do it! If I can do it, you can do it! I stopped and restarted writing this book more times than I can count. The feeling you will get when it’s done makes it all worthwhile! (and be sure to let yourself “finish” it – you can always edit it after)

      • Thanks Elizabeth I have almost finished I have even written the ending in when I hit a blockage in the middle now its probably only got about ten more scenes to go. I know what I have to do its all listed…its just getting focused and pushing through, and yes I will be so excited to finish something this big. Thanks for the encouragement

      • You are really smart to get the “lay of the land” in epublishing so early. I wish I had been that forward-thinking. 🙂

  2. Hi Elizabeth – just downloaded you book and am looking forward to the read.

  3. Thanks so much Elizabeth/Jackie! You described our feelings–and new friendship–so well! And I guess we should just be thankful our titles aren’t IDENTICAL, although we never would have used anything even close, if we’d known before we published. But as soon as we found there WAS no title like ours out there last fall, we started posting our title and book cover on Facebook, Twitter, our blog site, our website, etc. (thinking that our publication would also be in December, which would have REALLY been a coincidence!! But alas, here it is April . . . yikes!). We love your more-the-merrier attitude, and we love our new friendship! And we’re counting on readers to have a hearty appetite for humorous murder mysteries set in beautiful Door County! And now we’re takin’ our girls Val & Kit back to Downers Grove for their fourth adventure . . . Hope to see you soon!

    • I think it is just a case of “meant to be”. We were meant to become friends, and I think it will benefit both of our Door County books! 🙂 I’d like to thank both of you, Patty and Roz, for being so gracious and kind about it! 🙂 I feel very welcomed to the world of self-publishing!

      • Awww, thank you! You’re a most welcome addition to the world of self-publishing! We have about a year and a half under our shared belt — wow! what a learning curve! But we have been writing and editing for a l-o-n-g time, in our former lives and jobs. If you ever need to pick OUR brains, ask and you shall receive!! For what THAT’S worth 🙂

      • I really really appreciate that! I’m learning the marketing side… but I’m on the wrong side of that learning curve… 🙂 Please let me know if I can do anything for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

